My NaNoWriMo challenge – Days 26-30

After having reached the 50k word target on day 25 I continued to write out the full 30 days of the challenge. In the five days (26-30) I wrote an extra 5,681 words (average 1,136) bringing the total to 55,737 words, 11% up on target with an average words count over the 30 days of 1,858.

To be honest I’m not sure if I could have accomplished this had I been working.

Tiberius Crowned is, roughly, about two-thirds written (first draft) and coming along nicely. There were a few sequences and mechanics that were proving to be awkward but I’m pretty happy with how they’ve worked out and it’s looking in good shape.

From my experience of doing two NaNoWriMo challenges (one official, one not) is the importance of having a plan. If I had to think each day of what area or sequence I was going to write then I doubt if I would have done half as many words. The plan acts as the stepping stones and allows me to concentrate on the writing, not the thinking. 

I hope that if you haven’t already given the NaNoWriMo challenge a try then you do so in November.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My NaNoWriMo challenge – Days 26-30

  1. I had a great experience with nanowrimo this last November. It really got me into the habit of writing every day. At some 55,000 words though my novel still has a way to go before it is complete. I’m thinking about doing Camp Nanowrimo–not to monitor my word count but telling my friends and family that I am dedicating my month to writing like I did in November and writing 2000 words a day until the book is done.

  2. apgoodman

    I absolutely agree that one of the best things about NaNoWriMo is getting us ingot he habit of writing everyday rather than here-and-there or when the mood strikes.

    Hope you enjoy Camp NaNoWriMo and best of luck finishing the book. What genre is is, and what rough word count are you looking for?

Leave a Reply

